Latest news

Housing Design Award for Timekeepers Square

Timekeepers Square has picked up its eighth industry award with a win at the coveted Housing Design Awards.

The Salford scheme, which was delivered by the English Cities Fund in conjunction with Salford City Council, took home the Richard Feilden Award, a special category award that recognises the best housing scheme enabled by the public sector.

Andy Avery, director at Buttress, said: “The Housing Design Awards is held in extremely high regard by the profession, with the judging panel comprising 20 cross-industry specialists. Each scheme undergoes a rigorous assessment process to ensure that it meets the highest design and place-making standards, so it’s a real privilege to receive a special award for Timekeepers Square.”

Designed as a contemporary reinterpretation of the area’s existing Georgian houses, Timekeepers Square includes three blocks of 36 two, three and four-bedroom townhouses. Each of the terraces have been set out to re-establish the historic urban grain of the area, focusing on the architectural and urban focal point of the adjacent Grade II* listed St Phillips Church, while also serving to define a new communal courtyard at the heart of the development.

The scheme is the second residential development in the area from the English Cities Fund – a joint venture between Muse Developments, Legal & General and Homes England, and forms part of the wider Salford Central regeneration scheme, which is breathing new life into both the Chapel Street and New Bailey areas of the city.

Phil Mayall regional director at the English Cities Fund, added: “To win one award for Timekeepers Square is a big achievement, but to win eight is outstanding and testament to the hard work of everyone involved.

“To take home the Richard Fielden Award is a proud moment in the Salford central regeneration story that is breathing new life into the New Bailey and Chapel Street areas of the city.”

Established in 1948, the Housing Design Awards is the country’s longest running awards programme. It is also the only industry awards promoted by all five major institutions - RICS, RIBA, RPTI, Landscape Institute and Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists.

This year 164 schemes across the UK were entered, 57 were shortlisted and just 15 received awards.